First Post by Kenley!

Hey everyone!

It’s Kenley here, from NDB Studios and the blog is finally up! There are definitely some things to work through, but it’s functioning and it’s a good time!

So, I’m Kenley and I’m the composer for NDB Studio Productions, here in Winnipeg.  While we can do all sorts of projects – film, live music, solo acts, commercial media – we really focus on New Media.  We’ve done quite a number of video games now for all sorts of consoles, including PC, Mac, iPhone and iPod Touch and we’re still having a blast doing it!

I live in Winnipeg, MB (Canada) and I’m a composer and music teacher.  I’m really into jazz (all types… I go through phases of what I listen to), music from video games, Classical, but Irish and Celtic music are really my weapons of choice right now.  I’m learning the Irish Whistle and it’s super fun – really intense stylistically… and really quick… but super fun.  There’s just something about Celtic Music… it’s full of texture, innate beauty and they are tunes known by the people, which I love.  It’s not about the audience, the pressure of performance or the formality of a lot of other Western music; it’s about kicking back at a session (or a pub), having drinks (or tea) with friends, then getting up to play some tunes.  Then, as you’re playing the tunes, there are children who Irish dance and they get up and dance as the band is playing! Everyone cheers and sings along and it becomes an all-inclusive artistic, but fun night!

But, even still, there are some tunes that can be played with a sense of unequivocal beauty.  Below is a video of Michael Wong playing Steve Baughman’s arrangement of “Fanny Power,” which is a standard air in Irish music.  It’s in Orkney tuning for the acoustic guitar, which is (from lowest to highest in pitch) C-G-D-G-C-D.  It’s just… magical, there’s something that moves in my heart every time I hear this tune…

Totally spell-binding.

Okay, that’s a solid little rant about Irish Music.  I will post more, as will Jeremy, as will NDB itself, so subscribe and stay tuned for updates!

Thanks a bunch,
Kenley

Leave a Reply

